Shag Shaughnessy (SL) – Piedmont 350 (SGC 4)


PLAYER: Shag Shaugnessy (SL)

TEAM: Roanoke Tigers

LEAGUE: Virginia State League

BACK: Piedmont 350 (39/39)

GRADE: SGC 4 VG/EX – (127) 7147-255



An attractive example of popular Southern Leaguer Shag Shaughnessy featuring the Piedmont 350 advertising reverse (ranked 39 of 39 in terms of scarcity according to T206 Resource).


Francis Joseph Shaughnessy

Born: April 8, 1883 – Amboy, IL

Died: May 15, 1969 – Montreal, Québec, Canada

Batted: RH

Threw: RH

Position: OF

Career BA: .281


Washington Senators AL (1905)

Philadelphia Athletics AL (1908)

What is Francis “Shag” Shaughnessy best-known for? If your favorite league has a playoff system where the first-place team plays the lowest-qualifying team, you can thank Shag Shaughnessy, who came up with the now-familiar playoff format in 1933. The Shaughnessy playoff system is used all over the world now, most notably in minor league baseball, probably because he served as president of the International League from 1936 to 1960. He also coached for the Tigers (1928), was GM for the Montreal Royals, introduced the option play in football as a coach at Yale and Cornell Universities, and was men’s hockey coach and football coach at McGill University. Before accomplishing all of that, Shaughnessy collected 32 major league at bats with the Senators and A’s before managing in the minors for 19 years. As player/manager of the Roanoke Tigers of the Virginia League, he won the league championship in 1909. He later won the Central League championship with the Fort Wayne Railroaders in 1912 and the Canadian League championship in 1913, 1914, and 1915 with the Ottawa Senators. He retired in 1936 with a career 1,189–1,053 managerial record. He was part of the inaugural class elected to the International League Hall of Fame in 1947, was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1963, the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame in 1983, and the McGill University Sports Hall of Fame in 1997.

An excerpt from the hit book “The T206 Collection – The Players & Their Stories” by Tom & Ellen Zappala. Click HERE to order the SECOND EDITION